Cutting Equipment Lab

Tuesdays: 5–9pm or Saturdays: 10am–4pm CT, hourly reservations
Experience required

Cut paper and book board using MCBA’s cutting equipment! Two guillotine paper cutters cut stacks of paper and two board shears cut large sheets of paper (also called “parent” sheets). Cutting Equipment Lab offers individuals an opportunity to reserve an hour-long time slot during Studio Lab to prepare paper and board for future projects. Prior training on safe and effective use of MCBA’s guillotine paper cutter and board shears is required. If this equipment is new to you and you are interested in learning how to use it, register for Cutting Equipment Orientation instead.

Registration closes 24 hours in advance. Instructions on how to enter MCBA for Studio Lab will be sent in a confirmation email once registration is complete. 

All in-person program participants are required to be vaccinated, have received a booster dose, and wear a mask while in MCBA’s studios. Proof of vaccination must be received three days (72 hours) before the start of the workshop or enrollment is subject to cancellation with a full refund. See our Covid Safety Guidelines for more information.

Tuesdays: 5–9pm CT, hourly reservations
$10 (10% member discount)
$5 for BIPOC participants (10% member discount)
To register, select a date to see the timeslots available.

Tuesday, August 9; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, August 16; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, August 23; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, September 6; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, September 13; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, September 20; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, October 4; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, October 11; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, October 18; 5–9pm CT

Tuesday, October 25; 5–9pm CT

Saturdays: 10am–4pm CT, hourly reservations
$10 (10% member discount)
$5 for BIPOC participants (10% member discount)
To register, select a date to see the timeslots available.

Saturday, September 3; 10am–4pm CT

Saturday, October 1; 10am–4pm CT

We are offering a reduced rate to BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) participants to honor equity and increase access and artistic opportunities for those who have historically been underrepresented in the book arts. For individuals to whom this does not apply, register at the rate listed first and, if you are able, consider making a donation when registering to support MCBA’s efforts to make reduced rates available.