March 20 – May 3, 2009

Inspired by the work of five award-winning poets, over three dozen children’s book artists and illustrators submitted over 40 works for Reflections, a competition and exhibition at Minnesota Center for Book Arts (MCBA), on display through May 3. MCBA and the Minnesota chapter of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (MNSCBWI) are proud to announce the competition’s award winners:

View a sampling of images from this exhibition. Refresh the page for another sampling, or visit MCBA on Flickr to view the full album.


Best In Show:

Shawn McCann (Otsego, MN)
Plane-In-The-Sky-Cycle (illustrating Two-Wheeler by Jane Thomas Noland)

Best in Category, Collage and Mixed Media:

Anna King (Minneapolis, MN)
Over Seas (illustrating His Father Overseas by Ruth Berman)

Best in Category, Digital:

Chrysa Otto (Minneapolis, MN)
Two-Wheeler (illustrating Two-Wheeler by Jane Thomas Noland)

Best in Category, Painting and Drawing:

Brianna Capra (Menomonie, WI)
Princesses (illustrating Princesses by Jeanie Watson)

Honorable Mentions were awarded to Barbara Björnson (New Brighton, MN), Nina Victor Crittenden (Deephaven, MN) and Emmeline Hall (Mendota Heights, MN).

Winning works were selected by a jury of three acclaimed experts in the field: author/illustrator David LaRochelle, author Brian Malloy and illustrator Christina Rodriguez.

Reflections is the culmination of a year-long collaboration and series of competitions. In May 2008, a MNSCBWI poetry competition cultivated five winning poems from talented local writers Ruth Berman, Krisanne A. Dattir, Bill Herring, Jane Thomas Nolan and Jeanie Watson. Each work on display in Reflections is an interpretation of one of those five winning poems.

Artists featured in Reflections:

Cheryl Barr
Barbara Björnson
Brianna Capra
Nina Victor Crittenden
Sandy D’Antonio
Megan Eckman
Chris Greenman
Emmeline Hall
LouAnn Hoppe
Jessica Ann Hutton
Jane Janda
Anna King
Stephanie Kunze
Betsy LePlatt
Shawn McCann
Amy Marshall
Faythe Mills
Jo Mills
Chrysa Otto
Katie Parke
Beth Robinson
R. W. Scholes
Alicia M. Schwab
Orlee Smull
Karen Sorensen
Mary Jo Truchon
Amy Vasterling
Sharon Wagner
Karen Wallach